The Cat and the Canary (1927) 31 Days of Horror: Terror-Thon at the Somerville Theatre   Leave a comment

catcanary

Last weekend, I sat in the beautiful Somerville Theatre for thirteen hours. I saw seven films. Some I had seen before, others were new to me. I hadn’t seen any of them in the theatre before so it was a real treat to sit back in a comfortable seat, munch on some popcorn and watch a fun mix of horror films. Here’s my take on the films I saw at the mini festival.

catcanary1

This comedy/horror silent tells the story of a group of distant relatives gathering at midnight in a spooky old mansion to hear the reading of their loopy relative’s will. Laura La Plante stars as the beautiful heiress Annabelle West who stands to inherit millions unless a doctor proves her insane. Enter an escaped lunatic from the local asylum, missing valuables, and a corpse. The house doesn’t help. Creepy, old, and covered in cobwebs, the manse looks a lot more haunted than the cleaned up versions we’re used to today. Doors creek, drapes billow in the wind, and bookshelves reveal hidden passageways. I want to live there myself. The slapstick is overdone in places, but most of the gags work great. Flora Finch, as Aunt Susan has a wonderfully expressive face and some great bits. I don’t think much of leading man Creighton Hale in this. Hale plays the sweet, goofy Paul who has loved Annabelle since childhood. I get where they were going with him, I just don’t think they arrived there. In addition to the basic story, a few red herrings and a funny Scooby-Doo chase scene make it fun. An able cast, fun titles with spooky effects, and a lovely score made me glad I watched it.

hand

mummy-shame

Leave a Reply

Monstrous Industry

Whirr. Clank. Grr.

Musing to Myself

Pretty much what it says on the tin, my musings

Dance Dance Party Party Akron

Maniacs on the dance floor

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Love Bungalow

a thoughtful lifestyle blog

Monkey Bread And Popcorn

Picking at Pop Culture

Pearls Of Blissdom by AntheasChronicles

It's the little things that make life blissful!

BooksAbound

Random musings from an extreme bibliophile.

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

immabelike

Its all about me that I know......rest you all can let me know

CURNBLOG

Movies, thoughts, thoughts about movies.

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

