Black Sunday or The Mask of Satan (1960) 31 Days of Horror   Leave a comment

bsun

Beautiful Barbara Steele glares at her brother. He and his pious cohorts tie Babs and her lover to stakes and plan to warm things up for the accused witches. It’s a great start to an otherwise dull film. She promises vengeance. That’s the plot based on a story by Nikolai Gogol. Many years later the spitting image of the ancient burned witch (Barbara Steele again) is in danger and faints a lot and the big strong men have to save her. Blah blah blah. I know people love this film. I just don’t get it. Mario Bava directed Black Sunday so there is blood, but not much really. The titular masks make an appearance at the beginning as they’re nailed to the witches’ faces, which is pretty cool, and again later, but I have to admit by then I didn’t care.

nooo
I don’t believe you’re Estee Lauder at all!

The characters talked a lot and ran from room to room of their ancestral castle, but other than a large, fake bat’s attacking one of the main characters, I got nothing. Barbara Steele looks great as do her costumes and the sets look appropriately gothic, but the film bored me. Sorry, Mario.

hiiiiiii
Hi guys!

Follow @cinemashame on twitter or go to cinemashame.wordpress.com for more 31 Days of Horror reviews.
I’m @echidnabot on twitter.

shame

Leave a Reply

Fade To Black

Movie & TV Reviews - Because everyone is entitled to my opinion.

Monstrous Industry

Whirr. Clank. Grr.

Musing to Myself

Pretty much what it says on the tin, my musings

Dance Dance Party Party Akron

Maniacs on the dance floor

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Love Bungalow

a thoughtful lifestyle blog

Monkey Bread And Popcorn

Picking at Pop Culture

Pearls Of Blissdom by AntheasChronicles

It's the little things that make life blissful!

BooksAbound

Random musings from an extreme bibliophile.

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

immabelike

Its all about me that I know......rest you all can let me know

CURNBLOG

Movies, thoughts, thoughts about movies.

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

