The Kid in the Hall   4 comments

Cinema-Paradiso

For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to watch old movies. As a kid, I went through the TV Guide every Sunday to see what classic films would air that week. I’d circle the ones I NEEDED to see. Many of them were on way past my bed time. My dad, who knew what these films meant to me, made some sneaky moves so I could watch and Mom wouldn’t know. Well, I’m sure she had an inkling. Dad would maneuver the television so I could see it from my secret spot in the hallway. As I craned my head to watch James Coburn answer the phone in that café in occupied France, I was hyper aware of my parents’ movements on the sofa. One false move, or lack thereof, would mean a scolding along with the near certainty that I would have to go back to bed and miss the rest of the movie. So I crouched uncomfortably on the tips of my toes so I could spring up and sprint the few steps to my bedroom and jump under the covers if I sensed one of them getting up for a snack during the commercial.

I saw a lot of amazing things from my private theatre seat in the shadows. Yul Brynner and Steve McQueen saved a village from Eli Wallach. Marlon Brando and Karl Malden had a beer and foiled Lee J. Cobb. Paul Newman played some pool. Clint Eastwood and Donald Sutherland fought negative waves and the Germans for a fortune in gold. Michael Rennie and Patricia Neal tried to save the world. I witnessed all these momentous events from a hiding place a few steps from my bedroom. At night I’d watch Charles Laughton defend Tyrone Power and during the day, I’d look at my walls covered with posters of McQueen on a bike jumping that barbed wire fence and Harpo Marx holding up a swordfish.

Of all the things my parents gave me, and they gave me a lot, one of the things I’ll always be happiest about is that they encouraged my love of movies. Now that I have a child of my own, it thrills me when my teenager walks into the room and says, “Is that Joan Crawford? She looks so young.” I still watch a lot of movies, but now I do it from the comfort of my couch instead of squished against the wall in my parents’ hallway. Some things are nearly the same though. I still check the schedule for Turner Classic Movies every week to see what gems I NEED to DVR and I still look at my walls, but this time I see the faces of Robert Mitchum and Orson Welles looking back at me.

      rko

I still can’t get enough of this.

Posted July 25, 2015 by Kerry Fristoe in Articles

4 responses to “The Kid in the Hall

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome and sweet post. I loved classic Hollywood from a young age, too. All the musicals as a kid, then Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn as a teen. I was quirky and fussy in my tastes sometimes — still am. Never liked Breakfast at Tiffany’s or Gone With the Wind — still don’t. And I’m probably the only classic fan who doesn’t get cable, so no TCM. But I watch something old and fabulous daily if I can. And I even develop new or accentuated appreciations, for Lauren Bacall and Rita Hayworth most recently.

    Thanks for sharing your trip down memory lane and inspiring mine.

    • Thank you! I’m not a Tiffany’s fan either. I’ve gone through different periods too, but the films I alluded to were the ones that got me started. Thanks again for reading!

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever made it all the way through Tiffany’s, so right with you both there. Growing up in San Diego, we only had three or four channels and a couple LA stations you could get sometimes. You either watched TV reruns or old movies. As a kid, I remember loving movies like Lifeboat, And Then There Were None, Dead End, and That Touch of Mink, the latter of which, I only got about a third of the jokes.

Leave a Reply

ASSHOLES WATCHING MOVIES

How many assholes does it take to review a movie?

Fade To Black

Movie & TV Reviews - Because everyone is entitled to my opinion.

Monstrous Industry

Whirr. Clank. Grr.

Musing to Myself

Pretty much what it says on the tin, my musings

Dance Dance Party Party Akron

Maniacs on the dance floor

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Love Bungalow

a thoughtful lifestyle blog

Monkey Bread And Popcorn

Picking at Pop Culture

Pearls Of Blissdom by AntheasChronicles

It's the little things that make life blissful!

BooksAbound

Random musings from an extreme bibliophile.

immabelike

Its all about me that I know......rest you all can let me know

CURNBLOG

Movies, thoughts, thoughts about movies.

